Harkwell Labels Ltd. are proud to announce that once again we have passed our BRC certificate with flying colours achieving a Class A Grade.

BRC Global Standards is a leading safety and quality certification program, used by over 22,000 certificated suppliers in 123 countries, with certification issued through a worldwide network of accredited certification bodies.

The Standards guarantee the standardisation of quality, safety and operational criteria and ensure that manufacturers fulfil their legal obligations and provide protection for the end consumer. BRC Global Standards are now often a fundamental requirement of leading retailers.

The BRC Standard consists of six points: 

2. Hazard and risk management system
The basis for the program is an effective Hazard and Risk Assessment that is based on the principles from the internationally recognised Codex Alimentarius system.

3. Technical management systems 
Sets out requirements for the technical management of product quality and hygiene practices, building upon the principles of ISO 9000. This includes requirements for product specifications, supplier monitoring, traceability, and the management of incidents and product recalls.

4. Site standards 
Sets out expectations for the production environment including the layout and maintenance of the buildings and equipment, cleaning, pest control and waste management.

5. Product and process control
Includes the requirements at the product design and development stage including process control and product inspection and testing. This includes a specific section on managing foreign body and chemical controls.

6. Personnel
The standards needed for staff training, protective clothing and personal hygiene.